Malaysia's Government
Malaysia :: Government

Country name: Malaysia (pronounced muh LAY zhuh)
(consisting of 11 states in the peninsular Malaysia, 2 states on the northern part of Borneo and one federal territory with three components, city of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, and Putrajaya )

States: Johor, Kedah, Kelatan, Malacca, Negri Sembilan, Pahang, Penang, Perak, Perlis, Selangor, Terengganu, Sabah, Sarawak

All Peninsular Malaysian states have hereditary rulers (called sultans) except Malacca and Penang; these two states along with Sabah and Sarawak in East Malaysia have governors appointed by government. Each state has a constitution and a legislature elected by the people.

Capital city: Kuala Lumpur

Year of independence: 31 August 1957 (from Britain)

National holiday: Independence Day/Malaysia Day, 31 August (1957)

Head of state: Yang Di-Pertuan Agong -- a position that is awarded to a different State Monarch (Sultan) every five years.

Head of government: Prime Minister Najib Razak (since 3 April 2009)
The prime minister is usually the leader of the politcal party with the most representatives in Parliament.

Type of government: constitutional monarchy and parliamentary democracy

Legislature: bicameral Parliament with the Senate (Dewan Negara) and the House of Representatives (Dewan Rakyat)

National flag: 14 equal horizontal stripes of red (top) alternating with white (bottom);
a blue rectangle in the upper hoist-side corner with a yellow crescent and a yellow 14-pointed star
14 stripes and 14-pointed star = Malaysia's 13 states + capital Kuala Lumpur
crescent = Islam
yellow = royal colour of Malaysia