Thailand's Government
Thailand :: Government

Country name:Thailand (Prathet Thai = "Land of the free")

Thailand was never colonized, unlike many of its Southeast Asia neighbours.

Official name: Kingdom of Thailand

Former country name: Siam

Year of founding: 1238 (traditional founding date; never colonized)

Founder: Sri Indradit

Year of independence: 1238

Chief of state: monarch (i.e., king)

King Phumiphon, the ninth king of the Chakri Dynasty (Rama IX) - who has been on the throne since 1946 - is the longest reigning Thai monarch. He commands enormous popular respect and moral authority.

National holiday: Birthday of King PHUMIPHON, 5 December (1927)

Head of government: Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva (since 15 December 2008)

Type of government: constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary form of government

Legislature: bicameral National Assembly with a House of Representatives and a Senate

National flag: five horizontal bands of red (top), white, blue (double width), white, and red
red stripes = nation
white stripes = purity of the Buddhism faith
blue stripe = monarchy