The Nestlé Children's Book Prize, formerly the Nestlé Smarties Book Prize, was established in 1985 to encourage high standards and stimulate interest in children’s books. It is open to works of fiction or poetry written for children in English by a citizen of the UK or an author resident in the UK.

There are 3 prizes, Gold, Silver and Bronze, in each of 3 age groups, 0-5 years, 6-8 years and 9-11 years. Over summer, a shortlist of nine books is drawn up by 5 adults - a children’s book editor, an author or illustrator, someone from the media, and somebody from the book trade.

Then in September, it’s over to the children themselves to make the final decision. Children are invited to enter a competition to become Young Judges. Every year around 42,000 children choose the winning books from the shortlist.
PNG Bookstore

Award-winning Children's Books (1)

1 · 2 · 3

Brought to you by "Parenting the Next Generation"

[ Books by Roald Dahl - Recommended ] [ Main Page ] [ Fantasy Fiction ]
If you have comments or suggestions, email me at