Indonesia's Government
Indonesia :: Government

Country name: Indonesia

Official name: Republic of Indonesia

Former names: Netherlands East Indies; Dutch East Indies

Capital city: Jakarta

Year of independence: 17 August 1945 (declared; from the Netherlands)

National holiday: Independence Day, 17 August (1945)

Head of state and government: President Susilo Bambang YUDHOYONO (since 20 October 2004)

President and vice president are elected for five-year terms (eligible for a second term) by direct vote of the citizenry.

Type of government: republic

   •   House of Representatives or Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat (DPR);
   •   House of Regional Representatives (Dewan Perwakilan Daerah or DPD);
   •   People's Consultative Assembly (Majelis Permusyawaratan Rakyat or MPR)

National flag: two equal horizontal bands of red (top) and white
red = gallantry and freedom
white = justice and purity