Myanmar :: Government

Country name: Myanmar
Myanmar consists seven divisions (predominantly Bamar) and seven states (home to particular ethnic minorities).

The seven states are Chin State, Kachin State, Kayah State, Kayin (Karen) State, Mon State, Rakhine State and Shan State.
Official name: Republic of Union of Myanmar (as of 21 October 2010)

Former names: Burma, Union of Burma, Union of Myanmar

Capital: Yangon (former name, Rangoon)

Administrative Capital: Naypyidaw

Year of independence: 4 January 1948 (from UK)

National holiday:
   •   Independence Day, 4 January (1948);
   •   Union Day, 12 February (1947)

Head of state: Chairman of the State Peace and Development Council (SPDC) Sr. Gen. THAN SHWE (since 23 April 1992)

Head of government: President, THEIN SEIN (since 4 February 2011; sworn in on 30 March 2011)

Type of government: a nominally civilian government
80% of the government comprises of former top military officials

Legislature: unicameral People's Assembly

National flag: The ruling military government introduced a new flag design on 21 October 2010 consisting of three equal horizontal stripes of yellow (top), green, and red; centered on the green band is a large white five-pointed star that partially overlaps onto the adjacent colored stripes;