Philippines' Government
Philippines :: Government

Country name: Philippines

Official name: Republic of the Philippines

Nickname: Pearl of the Orient Seas

Capital city: Manila

Year of independence:
   •   12 June 1898 (independence proclaimed from Spain);
   •   4 July 1946 (from the US)

National holiday: Independence Day, 12 June (1898)

Head of state and government: President Gloria MACAPAGAL-ARROYO (since 20 January 2001)

Type of government: democratic republic

Legislature: bicameral Congress with a House of Representatives and a Senate

National flag: two equal horizontal bands of blue (top) and red (bottom); a white equilateral triangle (on the hoist side); the center of the triangle displays a yellow sun with eight primary rays; each corner of the triangle contains a small, yellow, five-pointed star
blue = peace and justice
red = courage
white equilateral triangle = equality
eight primary rays = first eight provinces that sought independence from Spain
three small yellow stars = three major geographical divisions: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao